Dealing with people who hurt you

There were people in my life who have failed me and hurt me.
From people close to me who unintentionally and intentionally hurt me, to the bullying that happened in school, to the random strangers who threw me disgusting words on the street.

But the love from people who sincerely cared for me, makes all that hurt matter less.
My parents who sacrificially loves me all the way. My mom who quit her dream job to support my eating disorder recovery, and my dad who is always there for me.
My friends who ran to me when I was having an anxiety attack at school.

Rather than ruminating on the hurt, I try to think of these loving people in my life.
And think how I can purposefully use my experience to help people who are hurt like I was.
It’s hard but it’s more productive than the other way around.

Leave a Reply

