Is depression on a spectrum or categorical?

Not asking about the DSM diagnosis but more from personal experience.

For me, I often feel low, I often feel down.
But these are completely different from feeling depressed.

I may (mis)use the word “I feel depressed” for all of my low moods, but depression

for me is a totally different thing.

It’s not on a spectrum like stress is like for me.

When I am depressed, I have this “end of the world” feeling that my words just cannot describe sufficiently.

For me, it’s not exactly suicidal thoughts.

I notice this peculiar feeling of depression when i am not depressed.

That depression is more than the verbal descriptions I see on the diagnostic criteria.

Maybe this is because it has a lot to do with my spiritual health and things like hope.

Leave a Reply

